Ars Gratia The Mill

A couple of weeks ago, I did a story for Radio Adelaide’s Arts Breakfast program about a new arts venue in the city called “The Mill Adelaide”, and I interviewed the Managing Director, Amber Cronin. You can find the podcast here.

I was quite surprised, however, to find a fully functioning analogue photography studio in operation there – you know, darkroom, smelly chemicals etc. They even make their own glass plates! What really “got” me, however, was the sight of an old Speed Graphic “Press” camera, sort of camera my Father used in the 1950s.

The Analogue Laboratory” is one of the tenants of “The Mill Adelaide” and they run workshops for those who are interested in practicing their photography the analogue way. Check out Andrew’s “Crate Camera” – it’s incredible.

Thanks to everyone at “The Mill Adelaide” for an interesting time!ImageImage

 

Leave a comment